Week 2 Blog

As an educator, I meet many different people each semester/year.  I used to work at a high school, but now I work at a university where my students are ages 18-100.  As a high school teacher, I strove to be inspirational to my students.  I worked hard to get them excited about learning and discovering themselves.  Their narrative of school was typically “bored” or “not interested in hearing what you have to say”.  Many of them have been bounced around from school to school and were not interested in what I had to say.  Their narrative of school was a negative one because they always had a bad experience.  The narrative or “agreement from the group” of students was that school was useless ( Arnett et al., 2009, p. 37).  .  Their background and interpretation of this social setting was a negative one. Teaching these students was difficult at first because my narrative of school was much different.  I loved learning and had a great experience with my teachers and friends.  As the book states, “Stories matter; they shape our lives” ( Arnett et al., 2009, p. 58).  This leads me to the narrative that guides my life as a whole.

In my Week 2 discussion post, I stated that I am “plagued” with seeing the good in people.  This narrative has been something that has really benefited my life.  Seeing the good in people has helped me make friends and meet people I may not have normally met.  This particular narrative was useful as a high school teacher.  I was able to see that my students had potential and could reach their goals.  They may have been challenging to work with at times, but I was able to see that they were good and wanted to do well despite their past experiences.

This narrative helps me make decisions by taking into account my interactions with people.  I’m not afraid to help out a person in need (whether it be a stranger or friend).

Arnett, R. C., Harden Fritz, J. M., & Bell, L. M. (2009). Communication Ethics Literacy: Dialogue and Difference. Los Angeles: Sage.

Leave a Reply

