Week 5 APA Style Guide

APA, along with MLA, have been formats that I’ve used all throughout my high school, undergraduate, and graduate careers. So, I guess you could say that I’ve been using these since 1999. I was also an English major for my undergraduate degree and worked as a writing center consultant (which I needed to be well versed in all writing styles).  I was also a high school English teacher for seven years.  Even with all of this experience with writing styles, there are still a few questions I have when looking specifically at APA formatting.  For example, what’s the purpose of a running header?  Also, why must the in text citations be so long?

There really isn’t anything that surprises me about APA anymore.  I understand that it was created to increase reading comprehension among psychologists, sociologists, and business managers.  APA gives these fields uniform use of charts, citations, and the way they write their papers.

At this point, I feel that any rule that is hard to remember can be looked up at anytime online.  We do live in a world of technology where knowledge is literally at our fingertips.  There is no excuse not to know something anymore.  Knowledge is power, and we need to harness the resources that we have to be successful.

Leave a Reply

